Drinking

Standard

I made myself a drink today…before noon because I can and because it’s Friday.  It’s not the first time I’ve had a drink before noon and it probably won’t be the last.  Sometimes it’s just called for.

I don’t see a problem with people starting to drink at earlier hours in the morning providing it doesn’t interfere with their lives.  if you’re not working, you have the luxury of drinking when you want. If you’re an adult, you have the luxury of drinking when you want. What I don’t agree with is the principle that minors think they can follow the same rules as adults when it comes to drinking.

First of all, if you can’t legally buy it, you can’t legally consume it. That includes alcohol, cigarettes, and fireworks,  While fireworks should not be consumed, it might be useful if we sort of ignored that fact.  We could weed out a lot of intelligently deficient people.

There are a whole list of problems that come with kids drinking when they’re still kids.  They’re stupid enough sober so let’s make them more stupid when they’re drunk. You know that problem with teen pregnancy? Ask those girls how they got pregnant and I’m sure the majority of the stories will start with, “I was at a party and got drunk….”

Let’s also remember that kids have no idea what the consequences of drinking are.  Ask them.  I’m sure you won’t hear words like “Well, the chances of me developing alcoholism go up ten fold. I become dependent on a substance that I think will numb my feelings. I become a slave to this depressant. I will pee myself at least once. I will call ex-girl/boyfriends and will look like an idiot on social networking sites like Facebook.  When I get my first job I will refuse to work Friday and Saturday nights because I will prefer to go party than to actually develop skills that will help me when I obtain a career.”

They will also think it’s not a big deal because everyone drinks.

While I don’t know what the exact statistics are, I am sure they are not at 100%  There are kids out there who do not drink, do not do drugs, and do not randomly select a specimen to have sex with.  They get a girl pregnant/get pregnant and we go right back to why kids should not drink.

If you’re a teenager reading this and thinking to yourself, damn this person is an idiot.  Well, think again because my frontal lobe has fully developed and my brain has finished growing so I am smarter than you.  Drinking and drugs cause damage to an undeveloped frontal lobe.  Google it and find out for yourself.  You might actually help yourself if you don’t rely on someone else to do the work for you. Once that frontal lobe has been damage, it won’t fix itself. You will be mentally stuck it whatever age you were when it was damaged.  Smoked pot at 14? Your brain will forever be 14. Get it? Good.

So kids, the moral of the story is stay away from drinking. If you can’t wait until you are legal age to start then you shouldn’t be allowed to drink ever.

Leave a Reply

